Idaho Journeyman Electrician Exam Prep

Choose your access term

Official sitting

Questions100
Time4 hours 30 minutes
Passing score70%
BookOpen book

Confirm question count, time, open-book rules, and passing score on the live board bulletin before you sit. We do not guarantee a passing result. Source: PSI Idaho bulletin 12220.

What’s included

20,000+ word study guide

Worked calculations, code-section breakdowns, exam traps, a key-terms glossary and a 30/60/90-day plan.

4 full-length practice exams

Original questions weighted to match the topic mix of the real exam.

400 practice questions

Every one with a written explanation and the code section behind the answer.

Same study guide and four exams on every term. You are choosing how long you can log in.

Instant accessSecure checkoutBuilt on current codes
SKU: N/A Category:

What this prep covers

  1. About the Idaho Journeyman Electrician license
  2. How Idaho licensing works
  3. Electrical theory and formulas the exam assumes
  4. How the NEC is organized (navigate it fast)
  5. Branch circuits, feeders, and load calculations (Article 220)
  6. Conductor ampacity and sizing (Article 310)
  7. Overcurrent protection (Article 240)
  8. Grounding and bonding (Article 250)
  9. Boxes, raceways, and wiring methods (Articles 300, 314, Chapter 9)
  10. Motors, transformers, and HVAC (Articles 430, 450, 440)
  11. Services and working clearances (Articles 230, 110, 408)
  12. GFCI, AFCI, and special locations
  13. Worked calculations
  14. Sample exam questions, solved
  15. Common mistakes and exam traps
  16. Key articles to tab

…and 4 further sections in the full guide.

Idaho Journeyman Electrician licensing, explained

About the Idaho Journeyman Electrician license

Idaho licenses electricians through the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL), which took over electrical licensing from the former Division of Building Safety. The Journeyman Electrician license is the qualified-installer credential: it authorizes you to install, alter, and repair electrical wiring and equipment, and apprentices generally must work under the supervision of a licensed journeyman. You earn it by meeting the experience-and-education requirement — documented on-the-job hours plus approved classroom instruction, or completion of an approved apprenticeship — and passing the trade exam.

The exam is National Electrical Code (NEC) based, because Idaho adopts the NEC as its electrical code. It is open book: you bring your own copy of the exam's NEC edition — the standard code book only, since handbooks, commentaries, and illustrated editions are not allowed. You may highlight, tab, and write notes in your reference book, but loose paper is not permitted in it. Idaho also allows a few named finding aids — Ferm's Fast Finder Index, Ugly's Electrical Reference, and Tom Henry's Key Word Index — so confirm the current approved-reference list before test day. Plan to tab and index your code book before test day, because the exam is as much a test of how fast you can locate a section as it is of what you have memorized.

Know these scope facts cold, because the exam asks them in plain-language form: the license is held by the individual, not the company; most installations require a permit and inspection before concealment (rough-in) and again at final; you must work within the classification you hold; and performing electrical work without the required license, or beyond your scope, is a violation that can cost you the license and carry civil penalties.

How Idaho licensing works

  • Experience and schooling: IDAPA 24.39.10.100 gives two journeyman paths. Path (a) is a minimum of 8,000 hours as an apprentice making electrical installations, in line with the rules of the jurisdiction where the hours were worked, and a four-year sequence of instruction approved by the Idaho Division of Career-Technical Education. Path (b) is 16,000 hours of electrical experience. The rule does not print a 576-hour classroom total. Do not study that older figure.
  • When you may sit: the examination subsection says you may sit after proof of the approved four-year sequence, or after 16,000 hours. Appliance repair, motor winding, and communications do not count. No more than 2,000 hours as a limited electrical installer or trainee count toward journeyman experience.
  • Application: submit the application, fee, and notarized proof of experience to DOPL; once you receive an approval letter you may schedule and pay for the exam.
  • Exam vendor and format: testing is administered through PSI (Idaho recently moved the exam from DOPL's in-house regional offices to PSI). PSI bulletin 12220, effective 9 July 2026, sets this paper at 100 questions, 70 percent, and 270 minutes. That is four and one-half hours, not four. The exam is open book. An older four-hour note is not this page.
  • Fees: the PSI examination fee on the bulletin is $75. That is not the license fee and not the permit fee. Confirm the license term, the application fee, and any continuing-education hours on the current DOPL schedule. This guide does not print a license price it has not taken from that schedule.

Before you rely on any value in this guide, confirm the exact NEC edition the exam is written to on the current DOPL page and the PSI candidate bulletin. IDAPA 24.39.10.600 adopts the 2023 NEC as the Idaho Electrical Code and then amends specific sections for field installations. The PSI journeyman book list is different: you may carry the 2020 NEC or the 2023 NEC, plus Ugly's Electrical References, 2023. Code-based exam items follow those editions. A 2017 book is not on this bulletin. An Idaho amendment that is not printed in the book you carried is a field rule, not an exam reference. Ampacities, GFCI/AFCI scope, working-clearance distances, and receptacle-spacing rules all change between editions, and the exam is written to a specific edition — not necessarily the newest one published.

This is the opening of the full study guide. The complete guide continues into code navigation, worked calculations and solved exam questions.

Other Idaho exam prep

Idaho Journeyman Electrician exam — common questions

Who administers the Idaho Journeyman Electrician exam?

The Idaho Journeyman Electrician examination is administered by Idaho DOPL Electrical Board / PSI. Journeyman Electrician page of bulletin 12220 effective 7/9/2026: 100 questions, 70 percent, 270 minutes, open book. Books: 2020 NEC or 2023 NEC, plus 2023 Ugly's Electrical References. Silent non-printing non-programmable calculator allowed. Outline: general knowledge 13, wiring and protection 25, wiring methods 19, equipment 19, special occupancies 12, special equipment 6, special conditions 6. No communication-systems block. Not master (100/75/270). Not the electrical contractor business-and-law paper (100/70/240). Fee $75. IDAPA 24.39.10.600 adopts the 2023 NEC with field amendments that are not the exam book list. Journeyman paths: 8,000 hours plus a four-year sequence, or 16,000 hours. The rule does not state 576 classroom hours..

How many questions are on the Idaho Journeyman Electrician exam?

The exam contains 100 questions. You need 70% to pass. You are allowed 4.5 hours.

How much practice does this prep include?

It includes 4 full-length practice exams and 400 practice questions in total. Every question has a written explanation naming the code section the answer comes from.

How long is the study guide?

The Idaho Journeyman Electrician guide runs to roughly 20,528 words, covering 20 sections from licensing rules through worked calculations and solved exam questions.

How long do I get access?

Choose 30, 60 or 90 days at checkout. Access begins the moment you enrol, works on any device, and you can retake every practice exam as often as you like. Days remaining are shown in your dashboard and you can extend at any time.

Is this an official Idaho Journeyman Electrician exam?

No. This is independent preparation material. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any state licensing board or exam vendor, and it does not contain real exam questions. Always confirm current requirements with your licensing board.

About this Idaho Journeyman Electrician prep

This prep is built specifically for the Idaho Journeyman Electrician examination and includes a 20,000+-word study guide written for this exam, 4 full-length practice exams and 400 practice questions, each with a written explanation.

The Idaho Journeyman Electrician examination is administered by Idaho DOPL Electrical Board / PSI. Journeyman Electrician page of bulletin 12220 effective 7/9/2026: 100 questions, 70 percent, 270 minutes, open book. Books: 2020 NEC or 2023 NEC, plus 2023 Ugly's Electrical References. Silent non-printing non-programmable calculator allowed. Outline: general knowledge 13, wiring and protection 25, wiring methods 19, equipment 19, special occupancies 12, special equipment 6, special conditions 6. No communication-systems block. Not master (100/75/270). Not the electrical contractor business-and-law paper (100/70/240). Fee $75. IDAPA 24.39.10.600 adopts the 2023 NEC with field amendments that are not the exam book list. Journeyman paths: 8,000 hours plus a four-year sequence, or 16,000 hours. The rule does not state 576 classroom hours.. This prep is written to that board’s current scope, not to a generic national syllabus.

The real Idaho Journeyman Electrician exam contains 100 questions, with a passing score of 70%. Our practice exams mirror that structure so the format is familiar before you sit it.

Topics covered

  • About the Idaho Journeyman Electrician license
  • How Idaho licensing works
  • Electrical theory and formulas the exam assumes
  • How the NEC is organized (navigate it fast)
  • Branch circuits, feeders, and load calculations (Article 220)
  • Conductor ampacity and sizing (Article 310)
  • Overcurrent protection (Article 240)
  • Grounding and bonding (Article 250)
  • Boxes, raceways, and wiring methods (Articles 300, 314, Chapter 9)
  • Motors, transformers, and HVAC (Articles 430, 450, 440)
  • Services and working clearances (Articles 230, 110, 408)
  • GFCI, AFCI, and special locations
  • Worked calculations
  • Sample exam questions, solved
  • Common mistakes and exam traps
  • Key articles to tab
  • Glossary of must-know terms
  • Your 30 / 60 / 90 day study plan
  • Exam-day strategy
  • 4 – Enforcement

How access works

You are paying for access length (30, 60, or 90 days). The study guide and four timed exams are the same on every term. Access starts when you enrol and works on any device for that term.

Not affiliated with or endorsed by any state licensing board or exam vendor. For exam-preparation purposes only.